Thanksgiving Recipes: Good Enough is Good

A roast turkey prepared for a traditional U.S....

Image via Wikipedia

Somewhere, every time I write about food, family, and traditions; a woman named Martha scratches an itchy hive.

Here, where I live, good enough is good.

When I looked at the menu, I realized there are several items that require no recipe, or at least the directions on the packaging are sufficient for the purpose.  And that is okay.  Nearly all require clarification.

Turkey:  Purchase a frozen turkey.  Right now, in my area, they are running about $0.68/pound for “no-name” brand; $1.00/pound for name brand.  Name brand tastes better and is more photogenic, because it is generously injected with stuff that God didn’t put in turkeys.  I am cheap and always go for price.  Ordinary turkey tastes great on Thanksgiving Day.  It is not a side by side marketing analysis.  Get the turkey you want and be at peace.

This massive beast will come with thawing instructions.  They are wrong.  A frozen turkey WILL NOT thaw in the fridge in that length of time.  You will always have to apply the “quick thawing” instructions.  Food poisoning is difficult to be thankful for, so I this is the way I do it.  Every. Time.

The best way to get your turkey perfect is by the use of a meat thermometer.  They are commonly available in the grocery store, or the discount store.  You can go to Williams ~ Sonoma, but if you are that kind of chef, you are not reading this.  They are less than $10 at the grocery and they can read the temperature.

About ten years ago, I started borrowing an electric roaster to do my turkey.  When we moved, I bought one.  With the oven freed up, I can bake in the regular oven at the same time the turkey is roasting.  This may have caused me not to plan ahead as I could, but I prefer to think everything is fresher right out of the oven.

Combining the roaster and the thermometer and the “conventional-wisdom-results-in-chaos” thawing approach, my turkey is usually finished cooking about an hour before the recommended cooking time.

A little butter massage at the beginning gives Mr. Turkey a joyful glow.  You will already be taking advantage of Ms. Cow.  You might as well share the love. (Eeww.  Cold chill.)

Did I mention this is not the low fat holiday menu?

This is not the low fat holiday menu.

Yet another reason to be thankful.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thanksgiving Recipes: Good Enough is Good

  1. GlowinGirl says:

    Low fat holiday menu? What’s that?

    Turkeys never thaw or cook in the time they are supposed to. That’s my experience at least. The people that write those things just make stuff up.

    Thanks for visiting Sugar Tails. Next time bring donuts and will eat them together. And maybe even walk while we eat them. 😉

  2. Amber says:

    Mmm, I love eating turkey.

    I don’t do any low fat stuff on Thanksgiving. I go all out.

  3. Sandra says:

    IT’s going to be hard for us Canadians, because we’ve already had our Thanksgiving, and now we are reading you terrific American bloggers, and you’ll all about the turkey, and we will be the ones peering through your windows, our noses pressed up against the glass 🙂

  4. Serene says:

    You would just love T-day at our house. Just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

