Mama’s Holiday Wish List

Mama’s Holiday Wish List Meme

TodaysMama (link to: http://bit.ly/tmwishlist) and GameStop (link to: http://bit.ly/gamestop10) are giving away a sleighful of gifts this holiday season and to enter I’m sharing this meme with you.

1. What is your holiday wish for your family?

Peace, Love and Joy…  We have had a lot of transition and a lot of pressure this year, and all I want is for everyone to feel loved and content and secure.  I used to make fun of the people who said all they wanted was “Peace on Earth.”  I thought, “Be honest, don’t you want a little something to open up?”  Now I know.  None of that really satisfies.

2. What is your Christmas morning / Hanukkah Nightly tradition?

Mom gets up first and drinks coffee sits in front of the lit tree until time to wake Dad.  Then we wake the children, who are tired because they stayed awake staring into the darkness; unable to sleep for the excitement, all night.  Someone starts by giving the first gift, then the recipient opens it and then selects a gift under the tree and gives it to the next person.  Yes, it takes longer this way.  Oh yeah, my husband takes a photo of every gift opened.  I hate this and I have asked him to stop.

3. If you could ask Santa for one, completely decadent wish for yourself, what would it be?

To move to another house.  We moved here with all sorts of dreams in our heads.  It wasn’t meant to be.  I would just love to move into a house with more storage and less payment.

4. How do you make the holidays special without spending any money?

By using our old traditional decorations and watching all the Christmas specials on TV.  We attend our church’s “Family Night At Christmas”– a Christmas themed talent show, and Christmas Eve Vespers Service and our neighborhood’s Victorian Holiday Home Tour and our city’s Christmas Parade.  We try to always watch It’s A Wonderful Life on dvd (it takes forever when you watch it on t.v.).   This year we are donating outgrown coats to the Warmth for Winter Program.

5. What games did you play with your family growing up?

Hide and Seek, Black Jack, Monopoly were all big at different times with my cousins. I am an only child, so I didn’t play games at home.

6. What holiday tradition have you carried on from your own childhood?

We have carried on more from my husband’s tradition than mine.  I had to travel to all the parents, grandparents and step-grandparents for the holidays.  Even after my husband’s parents divorced, they preserved the holidays for their kids.  The taking turns thing( in #2 above) is his families deal.  As the only child, of course, there was not really anyone to take turns with.  My mom opened hers; I opened mine.

7. Where would you go for a Christmas/Hanukkah-away-from-home trip?

New England, my Sister In Law used to live there, and we loved visiting them any time of year, but nothing beats the Currier & Ives look of the Christmas Season.  It is sure to have snow and be cold…not like where we live.  It could be seventy and sunny here.

8. Check out GameStop (link to: http://bit.ly/gamestop10) and tell us, what are the three top items on your GameStop Wish List this year?

1) Tetris Party Deluxe for Nintendo DS, 2) Wii Fit Plus with Balance Board, 3) Nintendo Kinect.

This is all new territory for me.  We don’t have any system of any kind except some plug and play games.  I am like George Costanza in the “Opposite Episodes”  What I have been doing up to now has not worked.  I am going opposite.  And hoping that I get Peace On Earth and the kids have a little something to open up.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mama’s Holiday Wish List

  1. Jen says:

    We have the same one-at-a-time tradition at our house, too! I just am appalled if it doesn’t go that way if we are visiting, but I try to be gracious. 🙂

    So glad you came to Finding Heaven the other day. I loved your answers to these questions. You seem very real and authentic.

Leave a Reply

