Time for a Fresh Start

The Flint Hills.

Image via Wikipedia

Yes, I make New Year’s Resolutions.  I can’t help it.  It is just a good time to make a fresh start.

The new year is like a brand new blank, college-ruled, spiral notebook.  Not yet written in.  The 12 subjects not yet designated by purpose and the corners not yet white and curled from careless misuse, it is waiting, full of infinite potential.

A new year is like a big new container of time to use better than I did the time of the last year (Cake Mania, anyone?).

A new year is like an uncharted frontier of mental space.  Rolled out like the Flint Hills before me; mine to section off anyway I see fit.

The new year is like a sling and a stone, to slay the giants that have held me under siege up until now — disorganization, inertia(laziness), wasteful spending, careless speech, failure to prepare for the future.  I could go on and on, because giants are easily identified. They are, however; more difficult to confront without the proper resources.

Time, Space, Slings, Stones.  And  God, who has always shown up for the one who opposes what opposes Him.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time for a Fresh Start

  1. I love New Year’s Resolutions, even if they are cliche. I just try to do something general so I don’t set my self up for failure. This year mine is to make my life greener. Lot’s of room for improvement in that category so it should be pretty easy. Hope you have a great 2011!

Leave a Reply

